top of page
  • Writer's pictureA

Purple Contrast Sundress

One of my favorite (and most worn) recent makes is the bee-line dress, so I decided that it was worth remaking the pattern with a different look. I went to the store and found some "Halloween" fabric to use as the main material, and a purple for the bottom contrast.

I tried to take pictures as I went along, and caught a few shots.

One thing that I disagree with the pattern makers on is that they made this pattern fully lined. So like last time around I just lined it to the waist; it would probably be better with a simple facing with interfacing.

Stitching the princess seams on the linings.

Adding the contrast hem

Tacking down the lining by the zipper so it doesn't get caught in the fray.

No contrast pockets this go around, but I did add inseam pockets big enough for my phone. For scale I put a pair of scissors in one pocket - only the tip is showing.

A more accurate representation of the colors.



Completed: January 2023


Item: purple sundress


Challenge: n/a


Material: Cotton broadcloth (2 7/8 yards main fabric, plus 1 1/2 yards contrast - I had 15 inches of purple left over though, so if I do this again with a solid contrast I'd only buy 1 1/8 yard)


Pattern: McCall's 6741


Year: n/a


Notions: Thread, Zipper


Hours to Complete: 8


Total Cost: $11.50 (main fabric) + $12 (contrast fabric)  + $2.50 (zipper) + tax = just under $30

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page