top of page
  • Writer's pictureA

Giant Squid Plush 🦑

So apparently I'm on a deep ocean vibe. After completing the octopus necklace earlier in the week, I decided that my next project should be a giant squid plush. This is a pattern that I found online several years ago, and I purchased supplies for it at that time. However, it fell to the back-burner. Flash forward about 6 years, and suddenly it needed to happen.


First step was to cut out the pieces. I forgot to add the seam allowances, but since I uniformly forgot them it worked out.


Next I stitched, turned, and stuffed the legs and tentacles. My thumb hurt after that.


Next up was the head of the squid. After adding the fins it was the same stitch, turn, and stuff. I didn't realize just how big it was going to be 😬

Now it was time to attach the eyes.

Things got a bit awkward when I added the legs. I tried just pinning and running it through the machine with a zipper foot, but that quickly derailed - I may have over stuffed the legs. Ultimately, I had to hand baste the legs and then machine over them.

Next I closed up the side of the piece with the eyes.

Time to attach the top to the bottom of the squid and add the remainder of the stuffing. It's funny, when I started on the legs, a 5-pound box of stuffing seemed excessive. By the time I got to the body I began to wonder if I had enough.


Last step was to attach the bottom under the legs. I hand stitched this bit too because I suspected that it wouldn't play nicely with the machine.

And then I had a squid!

Of course, I needed to travel with the squid, and it was only after completion that I realized it was bigger than my suitcase!

However I was able to squish the squid in. It's probably a good thing that it wasn't stuffed as tightly in the head as the arms!

Now I'm just waiting for the recipient to react to it.



Completed: December 2022


Item: Squid stuffed animal


Challenge: n/a


Material: Corduroy exterior, dotted cotton lining, fleece eyes



Year: n/a


Notions: Thread, Poly-fill stuffing


Hours to Complete: 8:30


Total Cost: ? I bought all of this 6+ years ago. Didn't require very much yardage though.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page